Departing Pittsburgh

My final engagement before leaving Pittsburgh, is a visit to the Magee-Womens Research Institute. The visit came about after a conversation I had earlier this year with Theresa Heinz, who suggested I take a look at the ground-breaking work into tackling pregnancy problems, and neonatal research.

Magee-Womens Research InstituteAfter a presentation from some of the scientists about their research into the health of the unborn child, we were taken on a short tour of some of the laboratories. It was inspiring to see the good work that is taking place at Magee to help women in pregnancy, premature newborns and long-term protection of women’s health. I believe that it is so valuable for scientists around the globe to share their knowledge and expertise – and for young researchers at the start of their careers to connect with each other. I look forward to keeping in touch with some of the contacts I have made today, and taking back their details to share with researchers at the Jennifer Brown Research Laboratory who are doing similar, extraordinary work in the UK.

During the reception at the Magee Centre that follows the lab visit, I meet many wonderful people who feel passionately, not only about the science they support, but about Pittsburgh. They are very proud to have showcased their city during the summit meetings.

I am now just making my final arrangements, packing things up, back at the hotel. We are due to leave for the airport shortly, and the overnight flight to get back home.

Until next time…

Sarah

Comments are closed.

